Staff Picks: Cute Comics

Introduction

Many comics lovers enjoy the drama, the horror and the sadness that come with reading fantastic stories that educate us and teach us about the struggle of human existence. And sometimes we just want to escape for a little bit. Whether it be slice of life stories about the everyday and cute animals or fantasy worlds we would love to live in, the comics on this list make us feel happy. 

A Man and His Cat

Umi Sakurai

Cover Image

While this may not be the typical pick for a kawaii comic, A Man and His Cat has cuteness to spare. Kanda, a widower and former professional pianist who lives alone, one day falls in love with the ugliest cat in the pet store, who he names Fukumaru. He learns how to care for his new pet and it helps open the door to new friendships. The story flips between Kanda's and Fukumaru's points of view and Fukumaru speaks in cat puns. It's by turns sweet, sad, and incredibly funny.

Appeals to

This manga is perfect for fans of slice-of-life stories like Horimiya, stories of the trials of cat ownership like Chi's Sweet Home, and stories featuring older protagonists like BL Metamorphosis. There's a little of everything and a lot of very funny cat drawings.

Recommended by

Shannan Prukop

Adulthood is a Myth

Sarah Andersen

Cover Image

In this collection of deceptively simple short comics, Sarah Andersen waxes poetic on topics like mental health, bad habits, pets, and introverted life!

Appeals to

The comics' short length and pithy delivery make Adulthood is a Myth a great collection for readers looking for a quick pick-me-up.

Recommended by

Megan Rupe

Donut Feed the Squirrels

Mika Song

Cover Image

With soft watercolor drawings and lots of golden donuts that look good enough to eat, young readers will love following these two hungry squirrels on their quest to get donuts from a food truck near their tree. They unlist the help of Gramp, master of disguise, and Little Bee, their "getaway driver" to help they on their donut hiest. Lovers of squirrels, donuts, or hijinks will fall in love with Norma and Belly.

Appeals to

Fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Baloney and Friends will love this book.

Creator Identities:

  • Race and/or Nationality: 6796, 6825
Recommended by

Tayla Cardillo

Go to Sleep (I Miss You)

Lucy Knisley

Cover Image

Do you love cute babies? Are you looking for a graphic novel filled with cute line drawings of a baby that also covers all the trials and tribulations of new parenthood? Then look no further and pick up Go To Sleep (I Miss You). Knisley's simple, but still very whimsical, line drawing showcases her baby Pal's cutest moments, as well as some of his not-so-cute moments in this graphic novel all about figuring out work and life after baby.

Appeals to

New parents will find this title super relatable.

Content Notes

Some panel contain drawing of exposed breast in the context of nursing.

Creator Identities:

  • Sexuality: 7027

Main Character Identities:

  • Sexuality: 5364
Recommended by

Tayla Cardillo

I Am Pusheen the Cat

Claire Belton

Cover Image

The cat who's taken the internet by storm, Pusheen, is in her own graphic novel: I Am Pusheen the Cat. In this graphic novel you learn Pusheen's likes and dislikes, meet her sister Stormy and see how she celebrates holidays throughout the year. If you share a Pusheen meme whenever you see them, this graphic novel is for you.

Appeals to

Lovers of Sarah's Scribbles and other popular and very meme-able webcomics will love a book full of Pusheen comics.

Recommended by

Tayla Cardillo

Our Cats are More Famous than Us

Ananth Hirsh

Yuko Ota

Cover Image

Follow the adventures of Yuko and Ananth in this charming collection of short autobiographical comics about a variety of topics including adventures with friends, cooking experiments, apartment woes, and, of course, cats!

Appeals to

This collection is like sitting with a friend who's telling you stories; the art is charming yet also captures the drama of the moment. Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us is perfect for college-age and older who want some solid autobiographical comics that capture the triumphs and challenges of adult life.

Creator Identities:

  • Race and/or Nationality: 6832, 6850

Main Character Identities:

  • Race and/or Nationality: 6004, 5975
Recommended by

Megan Rupe

ParaNorthern

Stephanie Cooke

Mari Costa

Cover Image

Abby is a witch in training, but lately, her magic has been acting up. When a spell gone awry opens a portal and unleashes the Chaos Bunnies on her town, Abby and her friends are going to have to work quickly to keep the town from being overrun by the chaotically cute creatures!

Appeals to

Readers who enjoy brightly colored magical stories and friendship and magic will get a kick out of this one. Readers who loved the teen growing pains and adventure in the Okay Witch books will find much to enjoy here.

Creator Identities:

  • Sexuality: 7029

Main Character Identities:

  • Sexuality: 5363
Recommended by

Megan Rupe

The Tea Dragon Society

Kay O'Neill

Cover Image

Greta is a blacksmith's apprentice who loves the work but is not sure if it's something she wants to continue to pursue. After Greta rescues a tiny dragon, the dragon's caretaker pulls her into the world of tea dragon care, opening her up to new friends and experiences.

Appeals to

Readers looking for a tender fantasy story; readers who love dragons (these ones are especially cute!)

Creator Identities:

  • Gender Identity: Nonbinary

Main Character Identities:

  • Race and/or Nationality: 7641
  • Sexuality: 5362
Recommended by

Megan Rupe

Tokyo Mew Mew

Reiko Yoshida

Mia Ikumi

Cover Image

Ichigo is so excited to finally be on a date with her crush when an earthquake and a strange light happen. Everything seems fine until the next day when she's attacked by a monster and finds out she's part of a group called Mew Mews, who have to protect the world from aliens. Now she's teamed up with four other Mew Mews, fighting aliens and working in a cafe when not going on dates or turning more cat-like.

Appeals to

Tokyo Mew Mew follows a lot of magical girl genre tropes, so it's a perfect pick for anyone who loves series like Sailor Moon or Cardcaptor Sakura or is a great choice for readers into romance series like Skip Beat or Daytime Shooting Star. Come for the magical transformations, stay for the relationship drama!

Content Notes

As is sometimes common with magical girl series, there is some non-detailed nudity, and the costumes can be short/revealing, but nothing too extreme.

Recommended by

Shannan Prukop

Yotsuba&!

Kiyohiko Azuma

Cover Image

On the first day in her new home, Yotsuba wanders off to explore, only to end up running from her new neighbors. This is only the first of many adventures Yotsuba has in this adorable slice of life series.

Appeals to

Readers who like quirky slice-of-life stories and/or adorable child hijinks will find much to enjoy in this series.

Main Character Identities:

  • Race and/or Nationality: 5397
Recommended by

Megan Rupe