Based on the popular Nickelodeon cartoon, The Loud House graphic novel series stars Lincoln Loud and his five older and five younger sisters. Each volume begins with character bios of the Loud family and their friends, providing the perfect introduction to readers who may be unfamiliar with the television show.

The first story in volume 1 is a choose-your-own-adventure. Lincoln cannot find the remote control and readers help him decide which sibling to ask next. Lori, the oldest, is too busy texting her boyfriend to be bothered with Lincoln’s request. Lola, one of the younger sisters, would rather give Lincoln a makeover. Dead ends, which instruct readers to start all over again, include Lisa, the brainy sibling, destroying the remote in one of her science experiments, and the cat burying the remote in his litter box. Round and round it goes with poor Lincoln shuffled among his sisters. The back and forth is easy to follow, though there are separate stories in between the pages related to this story. Different size and color font for those story titles will help readers focus their attention to the proper page. Other stories in volume 1 include Lincoln playing video games, Lincoln trying to avoid hearing television spoilers from his sisters, and Lincoln and his best friend Clyde performing their silly and complicated handshake. Each story lasts an average of two to six pages and they are structured as vignettes rather than full chapters.

Volume 2 introduces new characters, including Lincoln’s mom and dad, Clyde’s two dads, and Lori’s boyfriend. Clyde and his dads try to bring their cat to the vet in one hilarious vignette. In another story, Lincoln’s dad unsuccessfully tries to cook an enchilada casserole. As with the first volume, all of the stories are funny and relatable.

The slender volumes are packed with humorous interactions, fast-paced dialogue, and full color art that mimics the cartoon. The show’s creator, as well as the animators and writers, have produced a graphic novel that will appeal to fans of the show and newcomers alike. The Loud House graphic novels are a must-have for all children’s collections.

The Loud House
by Nickelodeon
Art by Nickelodeon Lieberman
Vol. 1: There Will Be Chaos ISBN: 9781629917405
Vol. 2: There Will be MORE Chaos ISBN: 9781629918242
Papercutz, 2017
Publisher Age Rating: 8-12

  • Marissa Lieberman

    Past Reviewer

    Marissa graduated with her MLS from Queens College, NY in 2011 and is a children’s librarian at the East Orange Public Library, NJ where she gets to share her passion of anime and manga by running the tween anime club, ordering manga and graphic novels, and planning Tosho-con. She organized Tosho-con, the first library anime convention in Nassau County, NY back in 2010 and continues to run this successful convention at her current library. Marissa has written articles and presented about graphic novels, manga and library conventions for School Library Journal, New York Comic Con, and library conferences. She also reviews for School Library Journal and Voices of Youth Advocates.

    View all posts
Liked it? Take a second to support us on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!