June was Pride Month, which commemorates the 1969 Stonewall Riots, a key point in the fight for gay rights in the USA. Pride Month is full of events to unite the queer community and allies in celebration, provide opportunities to reflect, and shed light on issues the community still faces. Due to scheduling mishaps, this list did not go up during Pride Month as originally intended, but to continue to celebrate and encourage including queer titles and creators all year round, the staff here at No Flying, No Tights have compiled a list of graphic novels that feature LGBTQAA+ characters.

Princess Princess Ever After
By Katie O’Neill
Published by Oni (2016)

Elevator Pitch: Amira and Sadie are both princesses, who meet when Amira rescues Sadie from her tower. Adventures, friendship, and love soon follow.
Appeals to: Fans of Steven Universe, Princeless, and people who love cutesy/chibi style comics.
Suggested Age Range: Children
Contributed by: Danielle Boyd

 

 

Compass South (Book one in the Four Points series)
By Hope Larson and Rebecca Mock
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (2016)

Elevator Pitch: A treasure hunt with multiple players, taking place in 1860 and starring 12-year-old twins Cleopatra and Alexander. They each head to San Francisco by separate means, but are secretly being chased by pirates. Cleo takes on a male identity, which s/he prefers.
Appeals to: Fans of historical fiction, twins, high seas adventure, gender-queer identities, Amulet, and Three Thieves.
Suggested Age Range: Children
Contributed by Thomas Maluck

 

Goldie Vance (series)
By Hope Larson and Brittney Williams
Published by BOOM! Box (2016)

Elevator Pitch: Goldie’s? a plucky teen who uses her social disadvantages to her crime-solving advantage. When she wants intel on one of the guests at the hotel where she works, she disguises herself as a housekeeper, confident that as a woman of color, she won’t be remembered. Goldie’s wistful yearning for a minor female characterincluding the disappointment that she has a boyfriendwill ring as real for teens and preteens.
Appeals to: Lovers of other fun and female-strong series like Lumberjanes.
Suggested Age Range: Tweens and teens
Contributed by Amy Estersohn

Lumberjanes (series)
By Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen, and Noelle Stevenson
Published by BOOM! Box (2015-present)

Elevator Pitch: Summer camp was never quite as wacky as Lumberjanes imagines it, but that’s all the better for the reader. As five girls sleuth, fight, snark, and forge friendships at Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types, they always have each other’s backs and prove that friendship can be the key to any mystery.
Appeals to: Lumberjanes is pretty unique on the young readers stage for style and humorNimona fans will gobble the series right up, and young fans of the animated series Steven Universe, Gravity Falls, and Over the Garden Wall will be delighted to find more weird happenings in the woods.
Content Notes: Lumberjanes is great for middle grade on up.
Suggested Age Range: Children, teens, and adults all adore this series, as there’s something there for everyone.
Contributed by Robin Brenner

Drama
By Raina Telgemeier
Published by Graphix (2012)

Elevator Pitch: This bright, funny, relatable comic tells the story of Callie, a theater kid who is psyched about being the set designer for her middle school’s upcoming musical. This will give her a chance to hang out with two cute brothers who are part of the show! What could go wrong?
Appeals to: Fans of Telgemeier’s other books, theater kids.
Suggested Age Range: Teens and older kids
Contributed by Nic Willcox

  • Megan

    | She/Her

    Features Writer

    Megan earned her MLIS from Simmons College and is currently the evening librarian at Bay State College in Massachusetts. She satisfies her voracious appetite for graphic novels and manga through regular visits to her local public libraries and puts her love of graphic novels to good use by adding to Bay State’s collection whenever possible. Megan maintains a personal blog, Ferret with a Strobe Light, where she discusses awesome books she’s read lately. When not engaged in reading or library work, she likes running, drinking tea, and working on her own stories and art.

    View all posts
Liked it? Take a second to support us on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!