A blank canvas of desert. Suddenly, six figures appear out of nowhere, one by one. As each introduces him or her self, it is revealed that they are all X-Men, but each is from a different reality. A mysterious figure known as a Time Broker shows up, and reveals why they have been brought together. Each one of them has become unhinged from their reality, and in order to put things right, they must fix what has gone wrong in other realities. Sometimes, the goal is as easy as freeing an old enemy from prison, but sometimes it’s as difficult as killing an old friend. Every reality is different, and must be put right in the way that it belongs. Failure means being sent back to their flawed realities, where they may end up comatose, crippled, or even dead. Given minimal clues to their objective each time, the group struggles against their own definitions of right and wrong, good and evil, and friend and foe to do what must be done to move on, and hopefully, eventually, go home. Judd Winick took the idea behind the hit television series, Quantum Leap, and applied it to the X-Men universe, with excellent results. Even if you don’t know them, you find yourself caring about each of these individuals, these self-named Exiles. Down the Rabbit Hole is the first book in the Exiles series.

Exiles, vol. 1: Down the Rabbit Hole
ISBN: 9780785108337
by Judd Winick
Art by Mike McKone
Marvel Comics, 2002

Also Available in: Exiles Ultimate Collection, vol. 1
ISBN: 9780785138877
by Judd Winick
Art by Mike McKone
Marvel Comics, 2009 (collected addition)

  • Wil Dalphin

    Past Reviewer

    This reviewer is not longer actively working on our site, but we would not be here if not for our many dedicated contributors over the years. We thank all of them for their reviews, features, and support!

Liked it? Take a second to support us on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!