Hot Off the Press!

This week’s highlights, with commentary from the NFNT gang:

AdvSuperheroGirl

The Adventures of Superhero Girl (Dark Horse, 9781616550844)
Jennifer W: Superhero Girl yayyyyy!!!! I pre-ordered my copy months ago and can’t wait for it to arrive!

Chickenhare

Chickenhare (Scholastic, 9780545485081)
Jennifer W: Has anyone read Chickenhare? They’re promoting it as a read-alike for Bone and I do have a lot of Bone fans, although I am not one myself.

Snow: I was meh on Chickenhare. I definitely don’t think it has the depth or humor of Bone.

Emerald

Hiroaki Samura’s Emerald and Other Stories (Dark Horse, 9781616550653)
Jenny: I’m impatiently waiting for Hiroaki Samura’s Emerald and Other Stories.  The man’s realistic artwork is beautiful.  Also, he writes a good mess-with-your-head yarn.

DrWhoSTTNGv2

Star Trek: The Next Generation/Doctor Who Assimilation 2 Volume 2 (IDW, 9781613775516)
Snow: I’m looking forward to seeing what happens in volume 2.

VeshaValentine

The Vesha Valentine Story: A Pin-up Story Book (Slave Labor Graphics, 9781593622077)
Allen: The Vesha Valentine Story is pretty fun. It’s a love letter to a character artist Des Taylor created who represents all the glitz and pinup glamour of the romanticized 1940s Hollywood scene. There’s no real story it in, more of a collection of moments from her fictional life. Great stuff!

AND NOW FOR THE COMPLETE LIST

The following list of new releases is compiled from Diamond Comic Distributors’ complete weekly shipping list and Anime News Network’s Releases encyclopedia

Graphic Novels

Ape Entertainment

  • STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE DIGEST VOL 01 BERRY FUN COLLECTION

Arcana

  • FAFNIR GN VOL 02 BARACK TO THE FUTURE
  • SWERVE SC

Archie Comics

  • SONIC THE HEDGEHOG SELECT TP VOL 07

BOOM! Entertainment

  • DIE HARD YEAR ONE TP VOL 02
  • HYPERNATURALS TP VOL 01

Dark Horse

  • ADVENTURES OF SUPERHERO GIRL HC
  • ALABASTER WOLVES HC
  • CHRONICLES OF KING CONAN TP VOL 04 PRINCE IS DEAD
  • CURSE OF DRACULA HC
  • HIROAKI SAMURAS EMERALD & OTHER STORIES TP
  • HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES HC
  • MANARA LIBRARY HC VOL 04

DC Comics

  • BATMAN AND ROBIN WHITE KNIGHT DARK KNIGHT TP
  • BATMAN ARKHAM UNHINGED HC
  • BATMAN HC THE NIGHT OF THE OWLS
  • GREEN ARROW SALVATION TP
  • STORMWATCH TP VOL 02 ENEMIES OF THE EARTH
  • SUICIDE SQUAD TP VOL 02 BASILISK RISING
  • YOUNG JUSTICE TP VOL 03 CREATURE FEATURES

Drawn & Quarterly

  • SUSCEPTIBLE HC

Dynamite

  • VAMPIRELLA ARCHIVES HC VOL 06

IDW

  • GENIUS ILLUSTRATED LIFE & ART ALEX TOTH HC VOL 02
  • MARS ATTACKS TP VOL 01 ATTACK FROM SPACE
  • SECRET BATTLES OF GENGHIS KHAN HC
  • STAR TREK TNG DOCTOR WHO ASSIMILATION TP VOL 02
  • TORPEDO TP VOL 02

Kodansha

  • DELTORA QUEST GN VOL 10

Marvel

  • CAPTAIN AMERICA AND BLACK WIDOW TP
  • COUNTER X TP GENERATION X FOUR DAYS
  • DAREDEVIL BY MARK WAID HC VOL 01
  • ESSENTIAL MARVEL TEAM UP TP VOL 04
  • FANTASTIC FOUR ISLAND OF DEATH TP
  • IRON MAN BY MICHELINIE LAYTON JRJR OMNIBUS HC VOL 01
  • MARVEL UNIVERSE ULT SPIDER-MAN DIGEST TP VOL 02
  • SCARLET SPIDER TP VOL 01 LIFE AFTER DEATH
  • UNCANNY X-FORCE PREM HC BOOK 02 FINAL EXECUTION

NBM

  • THE INITIATES
  • LOUVRE COLLECTION HC ENCHANTMENT

Oni Press

  • LAST CALL GN VOL 02

Papercutz

  • ARIOL SC VOL 01 JUST A DONKEY LIKE YOU & ME

Pie Books

  • GENGA OTOMO KATSUHIRO ORIGINAL PICTURES HC

PS Artbooks

  • HARVEY HORRORS CHAMBER OF CHILLS SLIPCASE ED VOL 02
  • HARVEY HORRORS TOMB OF TERROR SLIPCASE ED VOL 01

Red 5 Comics

  • ATOMIC ROBO TP VOL 07

Scholastic

  • CHICKENHARE TP

Slave Labor Graphics

  • VESHA VALENTINE STORY GN

Smithsonian Books

  • DARWIN A GRAPHIC BIOGRAPHY GN

Titan

  • DEAD SPACE COLL ED TP
  • DEAD SPACE LIBERATION GN
  • DEAD SPACE SALVAGE TITAN ED TP

UBI Workshop

  • ASSASSINS CREED THE CHAIN GN

Vertical

  • KNIGHTS OF SIDONIA GN VOL 01

Viz

  • AWKWARD SILENCE VOL 03
  • HAYATE COMBAT BUTLER TP VOL 21
  • INU YASHA VIZBIG ED GN VOL 14

Anime

Section 23 Films

  • New Fist of the North Star – Complete Collection

Sentai

  • Waiting in the Summer – Complete Collection

Viz

  • InuYasha: the Final Act – Set 2

Keep in mind that titles are not always available from book vendors on the same dates as they are released in comic book stores, so not all of these will be available everywhere at the same time. Check with your vendors, just to be sure!