Hot Off the Press!

This week’s highlights, with commentary from the NFNT gang:

BW_vol2_drown

Animal Man Volume 2: Animal vs. Man (DC Comics, 9781401238001)
Batwoman Volume 2: To Drown the World (DC Comics, 978-1401237905)
Robin: I’m personally happy to see the second volumes of both Animal Man and Batwoman arriving, as I’ve thoroughly enjoyed both series (with some criticism, but enough to keep me hooked.)  As I’m a girl who waits for the trades, it’s clearly time to catch up with these two series!

Conanv13

Conan Volume 13: Queen of the Black Coast (Dark Horse, 9781616550424)
Jack: Ah, Conan: Queen of the Black Coast is finally out!  Brian Wood and Becky Cloonan don’t seem like obvious choices to take on Conan — their previous work together was the brilliant, quiet kids-with-weird-abilities anthology Demo — but they are doing a bang-up job here.  Wood writes Conan as cocky and violent but also crafty and sort of charming.  He’s a much more likable version of the character than I’ve ever encountered before, and much more interesting than the blunt instrument we’re used to seeing.  And Cloonan’s art is an absolute revelation.  It’s smart bringing such a feminine artist on such a masculine character as she adds lots of sexiness (and gives Conan this great, cocky smirk) while keeping the action brisk and sharp.  It’s a winning formula and results in an immensely (and surprisingly) likable book.

SavageSwordv1

Robert E. Howard’s Savage Sword Volume 1 (Dark Horse, 9781616550752)
Matthew: I’ve enjoyed Dark Horse’s ROBERT E. HOWARD’S SAVAGE SWORD thus far having reviewed a few of the individual issues on my pesonal blog.  Anthology titles are a rare thing these days and it’s unusual to see one published, even quarterly.  Still, Robert Howard did write far more than the sword and sorcery works for which he’s most famous and the idea of basing an entire series around comic adaptations of his work or stories inspired by his characters is a good one.  The TP edition also adresses my only real issue with the quarterly comic – namely that it’s difficult to tell serialized stories with so long a gap between issues.  It’s better, to my mind at least, to have the monthly book collect whole stories rather than chapters.  Either way, it’s nice to see Howard’s lesser-known heroes such as Black Agnes get some attention.

CursesFoiledAgain-300rgb

Curses: Foiled Again (First Second, 9781596436190)
Robin: I’ve been meaning to catch up on Curses: Foiled Again, since I enjoyed the first volume a lot, and I’m curious to see where the plot is going from here. :)
Abby: I can’t wait for Curses:  Foiled Again to come out.  I love Jane Yolen and the first one was wonderful.
Gail:  I agree, I am excited for that title as well.

Peanut

Peanut (Schwartz & Wade, 9780375865909)
Jennifer W: I got a review copy of Peanut and just covered that on my blog – it was an awesome book, I took it to the sixth graders on Tuesday and booktalked it as a read-alike for Raina Telgemeier.

SpiderManEndsoftheEarth

Spider-Man: Ends of the Earth (Marvel, 9780785160069)
Michael: I really like Spider-Man: Ends of the Earth. It made Doctor Octopus feel like a serious threat again, instead of a joke. It’s an interesting story and well worth a read through.

WW_Cv7_R2_0

Wonder Woman Volume 2: Guts (DC, 9781401238094)
Michael: Despite some large issues with the way the Amazons are treated (which others have spoken on at greater length and with more eloquence than I can) the Wonder Woman book is still worth reading for it’s creativity in interpreting the classic Greek Gods in new and interesting ways.

BodaciousSpacePirates1

Bodacious Space Pirates – Collecton 1 (Sentai)
Michael: While I personally haven’t seen it, my friend loved Bodacious Space Pirates. She said “People should watch it because it’s a good science fiction with nice art that has quality plots and lovely social dynamics.”

AND NOW FOR THE COMPLETE LIST

The following list of new releases is compiled from Diamond Comic Distributors’ complete weekly shipping list and Anime News Network’s Releases encyclopedia

Graphic Novels

AAM Markosia

  • CANCERTOWN TP BLASPHEMOUS TUMOURS

Antarctic Press

  • HOW TO DRAW STEAMPUNK PKT MANGA TP
  • ZOMBIE KID DIARIES GN VOL 03 WALKING DAD

Ape Entertainment

  • STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE DIGEST VOL 03 FIELD DAY & OTHER STORIES

Arcana

  • THE BOOK GN
  • INTRINSIC GN

Archaia

  • GOD MACHINE LEATHER BOUND ED HC

Archie Comics

  • BETTY & VERONICA PROM PRINCESSESS TP

Aspen MLT

  • FATHOM DEFINITIVE EDITION HC

Blank Slate

  • SILVER DARLINGS GN

BOOM! Studios

  • FANBOYS VS ZOMBIES TP VOL 01

Classic Comics Press

  • LEONARD STARRS MARY PERKINS ON STAGE TP VOL 02
  • LEONARD STARRS MARY PERKINS ON STAGE TP VOL 06
  • TARZAN OF THE APES RETURN OF TARZAN ILLUS HC

Dark Horse

  • CHERUBS HC
  • CONAN HC VOL 13 QUEEN O/T BLACK COAST
  • CREEPY COMICS AT DEATHS DOOR TP
  • OREIMO TP VOL 02
  • RESET HC
  • ROBERT E HOWARDS SAVAGE SWORD TP VOL 01

DC Comics

  • ABSOLUTE BATMAN & ROBIN HC BATMAN REBORN
  • ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN GIL KANE HC
  • ANIMAL MAN TP VOL 02 ANIMAL VS MAN
  • BATMAN CHRONICLES TP VOL 11
  • BATMAN THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS TP
  • BATWOMAN HC VOL 02 TO DROWN THE WORLD
  • GEARS OF WAR HC BOOK 03
  • GREEN LANTERN THE ANIMATED SERIES TP
  • JLA TP VOL 03
  • NORTHLANDERS TP VOL 07 THE ICELANDIC TRILOGY
  • SAGA OF THE SWAMP THING TP BOOK 03
  • SHOWCASE PRESENTS WEIRD WAR TALES TP VOL 01
  • SUPERMAN LAST SON OF KRYPTON TP
  • WAR OF THE GREEN LANTERNS AFTERMATH TP
  • WONDER WOMAN HC VOL 02 GUTS
  • WONDER WOMAN TP VOL 01 BLOOD

Dynamite

  • DEJAH THORIS & THE WHITE APES OF MARS TP
  • ETERNITY KILL TP
  • KIRBY GENESIS CAPTAIN VICTORY TP VOL 01
  • KIRBY GENESIS SILVER STAR TP VOL 01
  • SILVER SCORPION TP

Fantagraphics

  • JACK JACKSON AMERICAN HISTORY TEJANOS CAUSE HC

First Second

  • CURSES: FOILED AGAIN GN

Hermes Press

  • ALEX TOTH ZORRO COMP DELL COMICS ADVENTURES HC

Hey Drude Productions

  • SPACE HUSTLERS GN

Humanoids

  • BLACK INCAL DLX HC VOL 01

IDW

  • CLASSIC JURASSIC PARK TP VOL 05 RETURN PT 2
  • COMICS ABOUT CARTOONISTS HC
  • GI JOE COBRA TP SON OF THE SNAKE
  • GIL KANE AMAZING SPIDER MAN ARTIST ED HC
  • MARS ATTACKS CLASSICS TP VOL 03
  • POPEYE TP VOL 01
  • TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES ADVENTURES TP VOL 03

Marvel

  • CAPTAIN AMERICA LAND OF FREE TP
  • CAPTAIN MARVEL TP DEATH OF CAPTAIN MARVEL NEW PTG
  • CARNAGE MINIMUM CARNAGE TP
  • DEFENDERS BY MATT FRACTION TP VOL 02
  • ESSENTIAL X-MEN TP VOL 11
  • FANTASTIC FOUR BY JONATHAN HICKMAN TP VOL 05
  • GUARDIANS OF GALAXY TP VOL 01 TOMORROWS AVENGERS
  • MARVEL MASTERWORKS KA-ZAR HC VOL 01
  • MARVEL UNIVERSE AVENGERS EARTHS HEROES DIGEST TP VOL 02
  • NEW AVENGERS BREAKOUT PROSE NOVEL HC
  • POWERS PREM HC VOL 07 FOREVER
  • SPIDER-MAN ENDS OF EARTH TP
  • ULT COMICS SPIDER-MAN BY BENDIS PREM HC VOL 03
  • WOLVERINE NOT DEAD YET TP NEW PTG

Moonstone

  • AIRBOY & AIRFIGHTERS TP DANGEROUS LIAISONS

Papercutz

  • BEST OF THE THREE STOOGES HC VOL 02

PS Artbooks

  • HARVEY HORRORS CHAMBER OF CHILLS SLIPCASE ED VOL 01
  • HARVEY HORRORS WITCHES TALES SLIPCASE ED VOL 01
  • ROY THOMAS PRESENTS: THE HEAP HC VOL 01

Rebellion/2000 AD

  • SHAKO GN

Schwartz & Wade

  • PEANUT GN

Seven Seas Entertainment

  • GIRL FRIENDS COMPLETE COLL TP VOL 02
  • GUNSLINGER GIRL OMNIBUS TP VOL 06
  • I DONT LIKE YOU AT ALL BIG BROTHER GN COLL ED VOL 02
  • JACK THE RIPPER HELL BLADE GN VOL 03

Tor Books

  • DARK SHADOWS ANGELIQUE’S DESCENT GN

Valiant

  • HARBINGER TP VOL 01 OMEGA RISING

Viz

  • 07 GHOST GN VOL 02
  • CASE CLOSED GN VOL 45
  • LOVELESS 2-IN-1 ED TP VOL 02
  • LOVELESS GN VOL 10

Zenescope

  • ALICE IN WONDERLAND TP
  • WONDERLAND TP VOL 01

Anime

Funimation

  • Blood C – the Complete Series
  • Toriko – Part 1

Media Blasters

  • Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl – Complete Collection

NIS America

  • Ground Control to Psychoelectric Girl

The Right Stuf International

  • Maria Watches Over Us – Season 3

Sentai

  • Bodacious Space Pirates – Collection 1

Keep in mind that titles are not always available from book vendors on the same dates as they are released in comic book stores, so not all of these will be available everywhere at the same time. Check with your vendors, just to be sure!