Hot Off the Press!

This week’s highlights, with commentary from the NFNT gang:

Supergirl Volume 1: Last Daughter of Krypton (DC Comics, 9781401236809)

Matthew: The new Supergirl book surprised me and remains the only one of the so-called New 52 Young Justice books I am still reading.  The first chapter does a brilliant job of revealing Kara to be an intelligent and resourceful young woman, as she wakes up on a strange world and figures out based on what she observes that she’s on another planet and not dreaming.  I really can’t describe it but it’s an interesting read.

Mudman Volume 1 (Image Comics, 9781607065807)

Caitlin: I’m interested in this week’s Image books, including this one. Paul Grist’s comics are consistently fun.

Not My Bag (Image Comics, 9781607065975)

Caitlin: This also has an appealing style. It’s described as a story “for fans of Persepolis, Blankets and The Devil Wears Prada”, which is a confusing mix of influences. I wonder what it has in common with each of those titles? In any case, there are tentacles sticking out of a shopping bag on the cover – that’s enough to get my attention.

Kitchen Princess Omnibus Volume 2  (Kodansha, 9781935429456)

Snow:  I’m very happy that Kodansha is rereleasing Kitchen Princess in new omnibus volumes. Libraries should definitely pick this series up if they don’t already have it!

The Hive (Pantheon, 9780307907882)

Caitlin: This latest by Charles Burns should be good, in a creepy and disturbing way. And such lovely inking!

Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer Volume 4: Of Wood and Blood Part 2 (Slave Labor Graphics, 9781593622411)

Eva: Just to prove (needlessly) how out of the loop I’ve become, I had no idea there were more volumes of Pinocchio Vampire Slayer. This fills me with glee. I loved what turns out to have been volume 1 and can’t wait for the day I get to catch up on this series.

Snow: Like Eva, I’m also excited about more Pinocchio Vampire Slayer. It’s such a great series!

The Limit Volume 1 (Vertical, 9781935654568)

Caitlin: I don’t know much about this, but it looks like a survival story with clique-y high school girls, so I’m intrigued.

AND NOW FOR THE COMPLETE LIST

The following list of new releases is compiled from Diamond Comic Distributors’ complete weekly shipping list and Anime News Network’s Releases encyclopedia

Graphic Novels

215 Ink

  • KUZIMU COLL ED TP

Abrams

  • LOVECRAFT ANTHOLOGY TP VOL 02

Antarctic

  • HOW TO DRAW ALIEN BABES & PRINCESSES TP

Avatar

  • DICKS

BOOM! Studios

  • ELRIC THE BALANCE LOST TP VOL 03

Dark Horse

  • JOE GOLEM & THE DROWNING CITY DELUXE HC
  • SKY ART OF FINAL FANTASY HC BOXED SET

DC

  • GREEN LANTERN CORPS THE WEAPONER TP
  • GREEN LANTERN NEW GUARDIANS HC VOL 01 RING BEARER
  • SGT ROCK ARCHIVES HC VOL 04
  • SUPERGIRL TP VOL 01 LAST DAUGHTER OF KRYPTON
  • THE UNWRITTEN TP VOL 06 TOMMY TAYLOR WAR OF WORDS

Dynamite

  • THE SHADOW: BLOOD & JUDGMENT TP

Hermes Press

  • GRAY MORROWS ORION TP

IDW

  • TRANSFORMERS IDW COLLECTION HC VOL 07
  • TRANSFORMERS MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE TP VOL 02

Image

  • BLOODSTRIKE TP VOL 01 REBORN UNDER A BAD SIGN
  • MIND THE GAP TP VOL 01 INTIMATE STRANGERS
  • MUDMAN TP VOL 01
  • NOT MY BAG GN
  • SKULLKICKERS TP VOL 03 SIX SHOOTER ON THE SEVEN SEAS

Kodansha

  • KITCHEN PRINCESS OMNIBUS TP VOL 02

Lerner

  • MORTENSENS ESCAPADES GN VOL 01 MYSTERIOUS MANUSCRIPT

Marvel

  • AVENGING SPIDER-MAN TP FRIENDS BEAT UP YOUR FRIENDS
  • FEAR ITSELF TP SPIDER-MAN
  • INFERNAL MAN-THING TP
  • JOURNEY INTO MYSTERY TP VOL 03 TERRORISM MYTH
  • MARVEL FIRSTS BEFORE MARVEL NOW TP
  • PUNISHER MAX TP HOMELESS
  • VENOM TP SAVAGE SIX
  • ZOMBIES CHRISTMAS CAROL TP

NBM

  • NANCY DREW & CLUE CREW VOL 01 SMALL VOLCANOES
  • THREE STOOGES GN VOL 02 EBENEZER STOOGE

Oni

  • MIKE NORTON’S THE CURSE GN

Pantheon

  • CHARLES BURNS: THE HIVE GN

Rebellion/2000 AD

  • JUDGE DREDD DIGEST TP DARK JUDGES

Slave Labor Graphics

  • PINOCCHIO VAMPIRE SLAYER GN VOL 04 WOOD & BLOOD PT 2

Titan Books

  • JAMES BOND OMNIBUS TP VOL 04
  • WIZARD OF ID HC DAILIES & SUNDAYS 1972

Vertical Inc.

  • LIMIT GN VOL 01

Viz

  • MARCH STORY TP VOL 04
  • TENJO TENGE GN VOL 09

Zenescope

  • ALICE IN WONDERLAND HC

Anime

Eastern Star

Funimation

  • Ga-Rei Zero – the Complete Series
  • Hellsing Ultimate – Set 1
  • Tenchi Universe – Complete Series

Sentai

  • IDOLM@STER Xenoglossia – Collection 1
  • Someday’s Dreamers II  Sora – Complete Collection

Keep in mind that titles are not always available from book vendors on the same dates as they are released in comic book stores, so not all of these will be available everywhere at the same time. Check with your vendors, just to be sure!