Pirate Penguin Vs. Ninja Chicken: Troublems With Frenemies

Pirate Penguin Vs. Ninja Chicken: Troublems With FrenemiesPirate Penguin and Ninja Chicken are true frenemies — hate each other when they are together, but miss each other terribly when they are apart. This first book about their nefarious adventures is in three parts, the first being a selection of 19 short 2-3 page stories. Some of the stories include “Pet Store Peer Pressures” where Pirate Penguin obviously gets a parrot, and Ninja Chicken gets a dog, also “Ninja Chicken All Alone,” where Pirate Penguin leaves and Ninja Chicken misses him terribly, only to remember when he returns that they are frenemies, saying “Stop ruining the moment with hugging! It makes me throw up!”

The second part of the book is a longer and more detailed story where Ninja Chicken goes to a ninja convention while pirate penguin ends up flying in space. Lastly, the third part is filled with a variety of activities, including how to make a pirate hat and nun-chucks. Also included is some artwork of the characters. The tone of the stories is sarcastic and funny. They often involve a fight between the main characters, often not even knowing what they are fighting about. They bicker repeatedly and fight over ridiculous things.

The short stories will keep the interest of your most reluctant readers, and the action almost makes it like you are watching a cartoon on TV. The artwork is bright, colorful and unique, especially in the short story “Short Yet Fluffy” where Pirate Penguin and Ninja Chicken become stuffed animals. The only quip is the activity section is very short and contains both a maze and “SuDontKu” which may cause some writing on the books. Great for fans of Dav Pilkey and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. If you want to read more about Pirate Penguin and Ninja Chicken check out the authors website.

Pirate Penguin Vs. Ninja Chicken: Troublems With Frenemies
by Ray Friesen
ISBN: 9781603090711
Top Shelf Productions, 2011
Publisher Age Rating: All Ages

4 comments for “Pirate Penguin Vs. Ninja Chicken: Troublems With Frenemies

  1. February 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

    frenemies? lol i like it… the pirate chicken versus the ninja chicken looks great! are the books available as hardback?

    • Snow
      February 27, 2012 at 8:16 am

      It’s actually only available in hardcover, which is good news if you’re buying it for a library or other long term collection. (And the title makes me giggle, too!)

  2. Nichole King
    April 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Agreed about the hardcover Snow, we have it in our library and it’s holding up very well!

Leave a Reply